AMA Winners 2009

23 11 2009

And the Winners Are…(** indicates winner in the category)

 

POP/ROCK – Favorite Male Artist
Eminem
**Michael Jackson**
T.I.

POP/ROCK – Favorite Female Artist
Beyonce
Lady Gaga
**Taylor Swift **

POP/ROCK – Favorite Band, Duo or Group
**The BlackeEyed Peas**
Kings of Leon
Nickelback

POP/ROCK – Favorite Album
‘Fame,’ Lady Gaga
**’Number Ones,’ Michael Jackson**
‘Fearless,’ Taylor Swift

COUNTRY – Favorite Male Artist
Jason Aldean
Darius Rucker
**Keith Urban**

COUNTRY – Favorite Female Artist
Reba McEntire
**Taylor Swift**
Carrie Underwood

COUNTRY – Favorite Band, Duo or Group
**Rascal Flatts**
Sugarland
Zac Brown Band

COUNTRY – Favorite Album
‘Unstoppable,’ Rascal Flatts
**’Fearless,’ Taylor Swift**
‘Foundation,’ Zac Brown Band

RAP/HIP-HOP – Favorite Male Artist
Eminem
**Jay-Z**
T.I.

RAP/HIP-HOP – Favorite Album
‘Relapse,’ Eminem
**’Blueprint 3,’ Jay-Z**
‘Paper Trail,’ T.I.

SOUL/R&B – Favorite Male Artist
Jamie Foxx
**Michael Jackson**
Maxwell

SOUL/R&B – Favorite Female Artist
**Beyonce**
Keyshia Cole
Keri Hilson

SOUL/R&B – Favorite Band, Duo or Group
**The Black Eyed Peas**
Day26
Mary Mary

SOUL/R&B – Favorite Album
‘I Am…Sasha Fierce,’ Beyonce
‘The E.N.D.,’ The Black Eyed Peas
**’Number Ones,’ Michael Jackson**

SOUNDTRACKS – Favorite Album
‘Hannah Montana: The Movie
Hannah Montana 3′
**’Twilight’ Soundtrack**

ALTERNATIVE ROCK – Favorite Artist
**Greenday**
Kings of Leon
Shinedown

ADULT CONTEMPORARY – Favorite Artist
Daughtry
Jason Mraz
**Taylor Swift**

ARTIST OF THE YEAR
Kings of Leon
**Taylor Swift**
Lady Gaga
Eminem
Michael Jackson

My Score: 14/19

The surprises for me were the lack of surprises. I was pretty sure people would vote for a new Country Duo in Sugarland rather than reverting to the ‘ole faithful’ of Rascal Flatts…but I was wrong. I also predicted Taylor Swift wouldnt win EVERY award she was nominated for, giving up Adult contemporary to Daughtry…but I was wrong there too. Some of my ‘pure guesses based on gut feeling or coolest sounding names” did not pan out, but overall…I’m proud of my score…I must say my power for predicting reality shows is much stonger and accurate.

The show was great last night, I almost forgot it was an Awards show, it really played out more as the showcase for popular music of 2009 (minus the appearance of some peculiars: A-Rod, Seth Green, Christian Slater, Nicole Kidman…that creepy lizard/alien from V…)

I love that neither of the two acts who won ALL of the awards were present to accept…between MJ and Taylor…hope the AMA’s didnt feel snubbed.

(be sure to check out my previous post, I blogged in REAL time during the awards– my wrap up/commentary is below)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

