SYTYCD: Top 6 August 3rd

4 08 2011

SYTYCD is easily on of my favourite competition shows, but it is also one of the hardest to watch as it gets closer to the finale (next week!). Hard to watch such talent be a) judged b) in competition and c) eliminated each week.

But still extremely entertaining every wednesday night!

So let’s get to it, the dances from last night:

Melanie – A Hip Hop with Twitch. I was not a huge fan of the song, or the choreography… but I was a huge fan of Melanie in this piece. She was powerful, controlled, meticulous… she is everything a dancer should be and more. I think she is an artist and a technician… putting work into the details, and giving it heart. So, I wasnt a fan of this piece, but I could watch Melanie for hours in any number.

Sasha – Contemporary/Jazz with Kent (a former favourite!). They used a wall to leap onto, pound against, make shadows etc. It was a beautiful piece, one of the best I’ve seen particularly from Tyce. These are two power-house dancers, and the piece was elevated because of their strength and emotional rawness. I loved it, Sasha has gotten stronger every week… I never wouldve expected form her audition, for her to be such a contender til the end. Now, it’s a two-woman competition with Melanie.

Marko– Paso Doble. Poor guy. His chances of making it into the finale hang int he balance…and he picks the Paso. Dont get me wrong, there have been a few Pasos that have given me chills. However, this was not one of those nights. Marko is a great dancer, probably still my favourite guy… but this was slow and lacked the density and intensity to make me pick up the phone.

Tadd– Contemporary. This was more of a Cirque du Soleil performance than a “dance”, at least for this stage of the game. I wouldve liked to see less dangling from a chandelier and more dancing, but that’s my opinion. I think Tadd it a darkhorse in this competition but I wasnt a huge fan of his first attempt last night.

Ricky– Contemporary. If you didnt already think that Ricky was a bit ‘wooden’ as a dancer, give him batons to twirl for an entire number and see how wooden he CAN get. The inability to use his hands was a disastor in my opinion. He lacked line and he lacked full movement. Not a grat combination. I get it , the concept was supposed to be him conducting with his batons…but it came across very laboured and awkward.

Caitlynn – Samba. She can definitely shake it, and her legs are insane. But I dont think this dance did her any favours either. She has been squeaking by every week. becuase the judges see her technique and promise…but the problem is, I don’t get anything from her. I dont get soul like I do Melanie or heart like I do Sasha. So giving her a Samba, a party dance, didnt do it for me on an emotional level.

Paired dances:

Sasha and Ricky: Wacking (?!). Guess who kept my attention the whole time? One guess. Pairing a strong dancer with a lesser partner only exaggerates the gap between them. Sasha was fierce, she attacked this dance the way she attacks every dance. Ricky felt like a DWTS ‘Star’… just trying to keep up and not mess up. Sorry, my opinion.

Melanie and Tadd– Broadway. O.M.G I think I just re-fell in love with Melanie again. Sorry, bare with me. This dacne was about a choreographer and his muse, and it was JUST liek watching a professional Broadway number. It was professional quality. These are not amateur dancers people, these are true professional artists. Melanie was flawless and totally embraced the character she was given. Tadd was brilliant also, you would never suspect he was a ‘untrained’ B-Boy.

Caitlynn and Marko -Jazz. A great lyrical piece about a woman trying desperately to leave a controlling man. Both dancers put their heart and soul into this piece, as if it were the last time. THAT is what dancing for your life looks like. I think Marko redeemed himself and gave himself a fighting chance for the finale. Caitlynn was the best I’ve seen of her, but too little too late?

Thoughts?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

