American Idol Recap

20 04 2010

They couldve called tonight “Hallmark week” or “Make Simon Squirm Week”… alas, Inspiration Week was the chosen theme…and it couldve been worse.

It went like this…

Casey: Took another step back towards boring bar singer with pretty hair. I said he shouldve done something “throw back”…but he went the safe, dull route…sigh. sad.

Lee: Taking strides forward in this competition…he did what Casey shouldve done, singing The Boxer and making it his own reinvention….I would like to hear THAT on his record!

Tim: I have nothing left to say about him. He’s vanilla, he’s a “campfire” singer and his time has COME…he never gets any better or worse for me. It’s just….time.

Aaron: Could not have sang a more eye-roll inducing song this week “I believe I can Fly”. hurl. He has a good voice, but judging by his choice of songs each week…I would give his record to my Grandmother for Christmas…I wouldnt hear any Top 40 music on it.

Siobhan: It’s strange. The most identifyable  girl has an identity crisis. I cant envision who she is musically. Her voice is good at times, other times it rides the pitchy line…she confuses me.

Big Mike: Took on Nickelback (first mistake) and it didnt “fit” for me. Hearing him on that song without making it fully R&B…was a head shaker. Not the best week for him.

Crystal: Knock out punch of the night…capping off an emotionally flat night with the ultimate highlight. Crystal banged out a great, throw back gospel tune, sans guitar, and broke down in tears at the end…





DWTS results

20 04 2010

After 58 Minutes of shmultz , random performances, more filler and a handful of fake-outs…

Bottom two: Kate G and Pam An

So who DIDNT get the housewife vote this week?

Kate G (There IS a god!) goes home!

We can put up with shameless promotion, emotional breakdowns, over-dramatics, even fake tears…but one thing people DO NOT like seeing is a thankless non-celeb who DOESNT try. Good riddance…good luck on your book tour. sigh.





American Idol Songs

20 04 2010

In case you were wondering what it feels like every week for the Idols in their Song Selection process…Here it is: They get a list of “OK-ed” songs to choose from…that’s right. A list of like 50 songs, those are the boundaries.

For example, here is the offical list of songs they will select from for tonight’s “Inspirational Songs” week:

“The Prayer,” Andrea Bocelli and Celine Dion
“You’ll Never Walk Alone,” Barbra Streisand
“From a Distance,” Bette Midler
“Wind Beneath My Wings,” Bette Midler
“I’ve Had The Time Of My Life,” Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes
“Lovely Day,” Bill Withers
“The River of Dreams,” Billy Joel
“That’s The Way God Planned It,” Billy Preston
“It’s My Life,” Bon Jovi
“Livin’ on a Prayer,” Bon Jovi
“Holding Out for a Hero,” Bonnie Tyler
“You’ve Got a Friend,” Carole King
“Show Me What I’m Looking For,” Carolina Liar
“So Small,” Carrie Underwood
“My Heart Will Go On,” Celine Dion
“Hero,” Chad Kroeger featuring Josey Scott
“You’re the Inspiration,” Chicago
“I Turn To You,” Christina Aguilera
“Reflection,” Christina Aguilera
“Higher,” Creed
“Don’t Dream It’s Over,” Crowded House
“Changes,” David Bowie
“The Time of My Life,” David Cook
“You Light Up My Life,” Debby Boone
“I’m Coming Out,” Diana Ross
“Reach Out and Touch (Somebody’s Hand),” Diana Ross
“That’s What Friends Are For,” Dionne Warwick, Elton John, Gladys Knight
“Return to Innocence,” Enigma
“World,” Five for Fighting
“Don’t Stop,” Fleetwood Mac
“Flying Without Wings,” Flying Without Wings
“The Impossible Dream,” Frank Sinatra
“Dream Weaver,” Gary Wright
“I Will Survive,” Gloria Gaynor
“Drive,” Incubus
“What the World Needs Now is Love,” Jackie DeShannon
“Your Love Keeps Lifting Me (Higher and Higher),” Jackie Wilson
“I’ll Be There,” Jackson 5
“Living in America,” James Brown
“I Am Changing,” Jennifer Hudson
“Hands,” Jewel
“I Can See Clearly Now,” Jimmy Cliff
“Up Where We Belong,” Joe Cocker and Jennifer Warnes
“The Is My Now,” Jordin Sparks
“You Raise Me Up,” Josh Groban
“Over the Rainbow,” Judy Garland
“Walking on Sunshine,” Katrina and the Waves
“A Moment Like This,” Kelly Clarkson
“Live Like We’re Dying,” Kris Allen
“I Hope You Dance,” Lee Ann Womack
“Lifted,” Lighthouse Family
“What a Wonderful World,” Louis Armstrong
“When You Believe,” Mariah Carey
“Anyway,” Martina McBride
“Stronger,” Mary J. Blige
“Go the Distance,” Michael Bolton
“Only Hope,” Mandy Moore
“We Are the Champions,” Queen
“You’re My Best Friend,” Queen
“I Believe I Can Fly,” R. Kelly
“My Wish,” Rascal Flatts
“Angels,” Robbie Williams
“Bridge Over Troubled Waters,” Simon & Garfunkel
“The Boxer,” Simon & Garfunkel
“Everyday People,” Sly & the Family Stone
“Heaven Help Us All,” Stevie Wonder
“Rainbow,” Sugar Ray
“Amazing Grace,” Susan Boyle
“Dare You To Move,” Switchfoot
“Aquarius/Let the Sunshine In,” The Fifth Dimension
“Better Days,” The Goo Goo Dolls
“People Get Ready,” The Impressions
‘I’ll Stand By You,” The Pretenders
“If You Believe,” The Wiz
“Live Like You Were Dying,” Tim McGraw
“Calling All Angels,” Train
“Greatest Love of All,” Whitney Houston

What would YOU choose for each to sing? Or, If you were a creative artist on this show, what would YOU choose to try and make “your own”?

My choices for each would be as follows (I’m sure you’re wondering…)

Lee: “Dare you to Move” – perfect range, perfect emotional connect
Crystal: “Hands” – earthy, strong…
Siobhan: “I’ll stand by You” – she could add a ‘scream’ at the peak of emotion
Casey: “Bridge over Troubled Water” – give it some soul, back to the roots
Aaron: “Live like you were Dying” – something he can close his eyes and belt out
Tim: “Youre my Best friend” – just chinsy and corny enough to work for Tim
Big MIke: “You Raise me Up” – it’s a love song he could let loose on.

Tune in tonight, FOX 8pm for the big show!