World Cup day 1

11 06 2010

I guess people are diggin’ World Cup for the next…month right?

Well, it’s no Olympics…but apparantly a few people like it.

I try. I really do. Because I realize it’s ‘the beautiful game’ and it’s the most played sport worldwide…but…where is the action? In a 90 minute game…there might be 4 shots. total. There might be one goal…most likely, not. Many times, it’s a Tie game 0-0…and there’s no winner. After 90 minutes…no winner.

I want to like it, and maybe this time around…I’ll find the ‘action’.

But not today. In the much anticipated first day of competition, it ended in a Tie…both games.

South Africa 1 vs Mexico 1
FranceĀ 0 vs Uraguay 0

yawn.

let’s hope it heats up this weekend with a battleĀ for supremacy (arent all games?) pitting Britain (old world power) vs USA (new world power). That’s the marquee match on saturday.

Are you tuning in?